Malachy’s clinch Division 3 title as league approaches finals week

Wednesday, 22 February 2017

THINGS could not have been much tighter between Malachy's and Four Corners in the last round of league action.

Malachy's led by two points going into the final fixture and needed four points from their final match to guarantee victory.

Meanwhile, second placed Four Corners needed to pick up as big a win as possible and hope that Lulu's stymied Malachy's.

Four Corners went on to win 5-0 against Auction Rooms B, meaning four points were required for Malachy's to take the title.

And Malachy's did what they needed to do, winning 4-1 to take the league title by a single point.

Meanwhile in Donaghmore, it was McCausland's B who won 3-2 against Halliday's B which will keep them in good stead for their KO Cup final against Auction Rooms B in finals week.

In Division 2, Tavern B are in quite some run of form and will take some beating in the Tennent's Cup as they showed their class in the square in Stewartstown by beating the Golf Club 4-1

Castlebay took all five points from Tiffy's B and league champions Gervin's beat Donaghy's 3-2.


Results: Division 2

Castlebay 5-0 Tiffy's B

Tavern B 4-1 Golf Club

Robert Mc Closkey 2-1 Conan Mellon

Conor Currie 2-1 Oisin Shields

James Coyle 2-0 Donal

Tiernan Rush 2-0 Gerard

Cathal Devlin 1-2 Ian Rafferty


Donaghy's 2-3 Gervin's

James Toner 2-0 Phil Gervin

Paudy McNally 1-2 Joe Gervin

Geoff Gillis 2-1 Ronan Wilson

Pat Murtagh 0-2 Shea Fee

Sp Mc Guckin 0-2 Finbar Hughes


Division 3

McCausland's B 3-2 Halliday's B

David McCrory 2-0 Ian Burns

Charlie Toner 2-1 Roy Scott

Pat Doherty 0-2 M Burns

Tom McCall 2-0 Adrian Halliday

John Faloon 1-2 David Arnold


Malachy's 4-1 Lulu's

Ryan McCabe 2-1 Brendan O'Neill

High Corr 2-0 Plunkett McComb

Oliver McGrath 0-2 Brian Waugh

Cathal Corr 2-1 Peter McKay

Arthur Donaghy 2-1 Audi Waugh


Four Corners 5-0 Auction Rooms B


Halliday's A - bye


Doubles competition

Last week saw the return of the Doubles competition, with last year's champions Conrad McCann and Nathan Moore advancing to the semi finals of Zone 1, playing some fantastic pool.

In zone 2, two teams remain as Tiffy Quinn/Cormac McMullan beat Martin Bullock/Pat Murtagh and just about got the better of the Castlebay pairing, Rhonan O'Neill and Seamus Wylie, which went all way to the deciding frame.

In Gervin's, SP McAleer and Conor Tierney made it through to the semi finals with a 3-0 victory against Shane McDonald/Maurice Dynes in the final of the group.

Zone 4 in Cappagh is certainly the hardest of the zones but it was Connor McCann/Cathal McErlean, who made it through by beating Dee Mc Clements/Philip Tener.


Fixtures - Wednesday, 22 February:

Division 1 - At Davison's

Conrad Mc Cann (Tavern A) vs SP McAleer (Mc Aleer's)

Cathal Mc Erlean (Gables) v Connor McCann (Gables)


Division 2 - At Castlebay

James Nugent (Tiffy's B) v Shea Fee (Gervin's)

Nathan Moore (Castlebay) v Daniel Nixon (Gervin's)


Division 3 - At Tiffy's

Hugh Corr (Malachy's) v Gary McFall (Halliday's A)

Stephen Armstrong (Halliday's A) v Paul Bell (Four Corners)


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete