Henry and McCrum crowned champions!.

Wednesday, 8 November 2017

LAST Saturday night the ICRA held their annual Prizegiving in the Old Coach House Inn, Glaslough.

Former Classic Manx Grand Prix winner Brian Mateer was the most successful rider this year, his results both on the circuits and roads saw Brian clinch the 250 Classic championship on both circuits and roads.

Brian also was the recipient of the Joe McKeown Trophy, which is awarded to the rider as Overall Club Champion, based on the greatest total of points on both roads and short circuits on same capacity of machine.

He also collected the silverware as he was announced as winner of the Gerry O'Kane Memorial Trophy.

On the roads, Mateer inflicted defeat on Philip Shaw, whose impressive seven year championship winning streak came to an end.

Shaw still managed to hold on to second place ahead of Gary Hutton on the beautiful sounding Dempster Honda.

Whilst Mateer was a double champion on his 250, Ballymena plasterer Barry Davison was equally successful, taking the 350 and 500 ICRA Road Race championships.

Second in the 350 Championship was North Armagh club member Ian Thompson with short circuit champion Linton Irwin in third.

The ever consistent Freddie Stewart took second ahead of Ed Manly, who returned to racing following his marriage in June.

Making a return to the classic scene following a few years of hibernation, Cookstown's Alastair Henry clinched the 1000 CC short circuit series ahead of his friend and arch rival Robert McCrum, with McCrum doing likewise on the roads championship, finishing ahead of Trevor Stewart and Dave Brough.

Linton Irwin topped the 350 Short Circuit Championship from Gavan Duffy and John Dixon, whilst Alex Conroy won all his races to top the 500 class from David Carleton and Andy Kildea.

2017 ICRA Road Race Championship 250cc (Henry Cup)

1st: Brian Mateer 170 points 2nd: Philip Shaw 125 3rd: Gary Hutton 116

350cc (Manly Cup)

1st: Barry Davidson 120 points 2nd: Ian Thompson 108 3rd: Linton Irwin 73

500cc (Gina G Cup)

1st: Barry Davidson 125 points 2nd: Freddie Stewart 109 3rd: Ed Manly 65


1st: Robert McCrum 100 points 2nd: Trevor Stewart 65 3rd: Dave Brough 16

2017 ICRA Short Circuit Championship 250cc

1st Brian Mateer 320 points 2nd Gavan Duffy 213 3rd John Dixon 112


1st: Linton Irwin 326 points 2nd: Nicky Lamb 268 3rd: Herbie Ronan 111


1st: Alex Conroy 360 points 2nd: David Carleton 165 3rd: Andy Kildea 130


1st: Alistair Henry 200 points 2nd: Robert McCrum 25

Overall Club Champion (Joe McKeown Trophy)

1st: Brian Mateer 490 points 2nd: Linton Irwin 399 3rd: Alex Conroy 360

Nelson Hughes Memorial Trophy - Chris Turner

William Elwood Memorial Cup - Mark Kirkpatrick

Gerry O'Kane Memorial Cup - Brian Mateer

Cecil Cairnduff Memorial Cup - Alistair Henry

Philip Riddall Memorial Cup - Barry Davison

Alan Bonner Memorial Night

Over 600 fans who attended the Alan Bonner Memorial Night, held on Saturday last, and among them were 15 times TT winner Michael Dunlop leading the chat show riders.

Also in attendance was former double British Champion Alastair Seeley, who was joined by Jack Kennedy, William Dunlop, Brian McCormack, Micko Sweeney and Derek Sheils.

After the chat show there was a large auction and raffle, and the amount of memorabilia on offer was amazing.

The top price paid on the night was for a helmet donated by Phillip McCallen, and this went for €3200.

A boxing glove signed by the Irish Olympic Boxing Team, including Gold Medal winner and now World Champion Katie Taylor, John Joe Nevin, Paddy Barnes and Michael Conlon went for €1100.

A Mini Moto bike that was an exact replica of Alan's 2010 Irish Championship Senior Support Championship went for €1600, and a beautiful framed photo of Alan, donated by his father Noel, went for €1500.

There were numerous riders from past and present also in attendance, as well as fans who travelled from all parts of the country to support this great cause.

The committee have asked me to thank everyone for their support, both before and on the night, and to everyone who donated auction and raffle items for the night.

This weekend the Lisburn Motorcycle Show takes place on Friday and Saturday, opening at 5pm on Friday and 10am on Saturday.

Round two of the Aghadowey Pit Bike Winter series takes place at Aghadowey on Saturday, starting at 10am. This weekend the bikes will take in the full circuit as used by the short circuit riders in the past.

Jordan and Matthew McCord will be out to extend their championship points, while Cameron Dawson and Dylan McCrory will also be competing.


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete